



Name of The Activity:

Session on "Start up Success Stories "

By Dr Avinash Kumar Sharma

Summary of Event

The Institute's Innovation Council (IIC) of ABESIT organized a Session on "Startup success stories" on thursday, 24 august 2023.

The talk titled "Startup Success Story," delivered by Prof. Avinash Sharma, shed light on one of the most remarkable success stories in the Indian startup ecosystem. Paytm, founded by Vijay Shekhar Sharma in 2010, has evolved from a humble mobile recharge platform to a diversified digital financial services conglomerate. Prof. Sharma's presentation highlighted the key factors that contributed to Paytm's rapid growth and transformation.

Prof. Sharma emphasized that Paytm's success was rooted in its founder's visionary outlook. Vijay Shekhar Sharma recognized the potential of mobile technology in a rapidly digitizing India. The introduction of QR code-based payments, digital wallets, and the integration of various services under a single platform showcased the company's innovative spirit

The talk highlighted Paytm's ability to adapt to changing market dynamics. Initially launched as a mobile recharge and bill payment platform, Paytm swiftly expanded into e-commerce, entertainment, and financial services. This diversification allowed the company to cater to a wider audience and remain relevant in an ever-evolving market.

Prof. Sharma emphasized how Paytm's user-centric approach played a pivotal role in its success. The company focused on creating a seamless user experience, offering cashback incentives, and ensuring a secure platform for transactions. This approach helped in building trust and loyalty among users.

The talk discussed the role of demonetization in accelerating Paytm's growth. With the sudden surge in demand for digital payment solutions, Paytm was well-positioned to capitalize on the opportunity. The company's easy-to-use mobile wallet gained mass adoption during this period.

Prof. Sharma highlighted the importance of strategic partnerships in Paytm's journey. Collaborations with banks, retailers, and various service providers

helped the company expand its reach and offer a comprehensive suite of services, including banking, investment, and insurance products.

The talk delved into Paytm's funding journey, from early-stage investments to high-profile funding rounds. Prof. Sharma discussed how funding from investors like Alibaba's Ant Financial and SoftBank Vision Fund provided the financial backing needed for rapid expansion.

The presentation also touched upon the challenges Paytm faced, such as intense competition, regulatory hurdles, and building a secure platform in the face of cyber threats. Prof. Sharma highlighted how the company's resilience and ability to learn from setbacks contributed to its ultimate success.

In conclusion, Prof. Avinash Sharma's talk on the startup success story of Paytm provided a comprehensive overview of the factors that led to the company's remarkable growth and transformation. The combination of visionary leadership, innovation, user-centricity, strategic partnerships, and adaptability played a crucial role in Paytm's journey from a mobile recharge platform to a digital financial services giant. The story of Paytm serves as an inspiring example for aspiring entrepreneurs, highlighting the importance of embracing change, staying customer-focused, and leveraging opportunities to drive success in the competitive startup landscape.

Activity Name	Start up Success Stories		
Type Of Activity	Self Driven		
Mode Of Conduct	Offline		
Date	24th August, 2023		
Facebook Link	<u>LINK</u>		
Instagram Link	LINK		
Faculty Participants	 Prof. (Dr.) Avinash Kumar Sharma Prof. (Dr.) Arpita Gupta Prof. (Dr.) Bipin Kumar Rai Prof. (Dr.) Sheelesh Kumar Sharma Prof. (Dr.) Kaushal Kishore Prof. (Dr.) Rachit Patel Prof. Archana Sharma Prof. Avdhesh Kumar Tiwari Prof. Ganesh Kumar Yadav Prof. Khushboo Saxena 		

Student Participation List

Sno	Roll No	Name	Year	Branch & Section	Email Address
1	20029001000	Aayush Yadav	3rd	3CSE-A	aayush2020cs 155@abesit.e du.in
2	20029015200 04	Abhay Kumar Pandey	3rd	CS-AI-A	abhay2020cs ai113@abesit. edu.in
3	20029001000	Abhinandhan Sharma	3rd	3CSE-A	abhinandhan2 020cs074@a besit.edu.in
4	20029001000	Abhinav Gupta	3rd	3CSE-A	abhinav2020c s079@abesit. edu.in
5	21029015490 01	Abhishek	3rd	CSDS-B	abhishek2021 csdsle002@a besit.edu.in
6		Adarsh Kumar Mishra	3rd	3CSE-A	adarsh2020cs 014@abesit.e du.in
7	20029001000	Adarsh Sharma	3rd	3CSE-A	adarsh2020cs 171@abesit.e du.in
8	20029015400 09	Aditya kr. singh	3rd	CS-DS-A	adityasingh32 10@gmail.co m
9	20029001000 07	Aditya kumar pal	3rd	CSE A	aditya2020cs0 39@abesit.ed u.in
10	20029015400 08	Aditya Sharma	3rd	CS-DS-A	aditya2020csd s101@abesit. edu.in
11	20029015400	Aditya Yadav	3rd	CS-DS-A	aditya2020csd s073@abesit. edu.in
12	20029001000	Akash pal	3rd	CSE A	akash2020cs1 05@abesit.ed u.in
13	20029001000	Akshit Sinha	3rd	3CSE-A	akshit2020cs0 11@abesit.ed u.in
14	20029001000	akshit sinha	3rd	CSE A	akshit2020cs0 11@abesit.ed

]im
					u.in
15	20029001000	aman gupta	3rd	CSE A	aman2020cs1 12@abesit.ed u.in
16	20029015400 13	Aman Kumar Verma	3rd	CS-DS-A	aman2020csd s090@abesit. edu.in
17	21029001000 12	1	2nd	2CSE-A	aman2021cs1 77@abesit.ed u.in
18	21029001000	Aman Shishodia	2nd	2CSE-A	aman2021cs0 39@abesit.ed u.in
19	22029001090 04	Ambuja Singh	2nd	2CSE-A	tanuthakur181 0@gmail.com
20	21029001000 16	Anishka Gupta	2nd	2CSE-A	anishka2021c s070@abesit. edu.in
21	21029001000 17	Anjali Kumari	2nd	2CSE-A	anjali2021cs0 29@abesit.ed u.in
22	20029001000	Anjali Saxena	3rd	3CSE-A	anjali2020cs0 81@abesit.ed u.in
23	20029001000	Ankit Chand Jaiswal	3rd	CSE A	ankit2020cs14 2@abesit.edu .in
24	21029001000	Ankit Kumar Yadav	2nd	2CSE-A	ankit2021cs15 7@abesit.edu .in
25	20029001000	Anmol Kumar	3rd	CSE A	anmol2020cs 120@abesit.e du.in
26	20029015200 26	Ansh Mehta	3rd	CS-AI-A	ansh2020csai 067@abesit.e du.in
27	20029001000 25	Anubhav Maurya	3rd	CSE A	anubhav2020 cs106@abesit .edu.in
28	21029001000	Anupam Singh	2nd	2CSE-A	anupam2021c s119@abesit. edu.in
29	20029001000	Anuradha Saxena	3rd	3CSE-A	anuradha2020 cs154@abesit .edu.in

				1	
30	20029001000	Aparna Sharma	3rd	2CSE-A	aparna2020cs 030@abesit.e du.in
31	20029015200 29	Arnim Roopansh Goyal	3rd	CS-AI-A	arnim2020csa i041@abesit.e du.in
32	21029001000 25	Arpit	2nd	2CSE-A	arpit2021cs06 1@abesit.edu .in
33	21029015490 02	Arun Kumar Mishra	3rd	CS-DS-B	arun2021csds le003@abesit. edu.in
34	20029001000	Arvind Kumar	3rd	CSE A	arvind2020cs 097@abesit.e du.in
35	21029001000	Ashish kumar	2nd	2CSE-A	ashish2021cs 078@abesit.e du.in
36	21029001000	Ashish Raghav	2nd	2CSE-A	ashish2021cs 022@abesit.e du.in
37	20029001000	Aush Khan	3rd	3CSE-A	aush2020cs1 56@abesit.ed u.in
38	20029001000	Avaneesh kumar	3rd	3CSE-A	avaneesh202 0cs113@abes it.edu.in
39	20019001000	Ayush goel	3rd	3CSE-A	ayush2020cs0 26@abesit.ed u.in
40	21029001000	Ayush Gupta	2nd	2CSE-A	ayush2021cs1 87@abesit.ed u.in
41	21029001000	Bhoomi Sharma	2nd	2CSE-A	bhoomi2021c s062@abesit. edu.in
42	21029001090 04	Brahmanand Mourya	3rd	3CSE-B	brahmanand2 021csle008@ abesit.edu.in

Snapshots of Event











Keypoint

- Learn about vision and innovation
- Adapting to marketing needs
- User-Centric Approach
- Demonetization Impact
- Strategic Partnerships
- Funding and Investment
- Challenges Overcome